top of page
Search
  • anyamarie21

Something I Wonder

Sometimes I wonder if I wake you up in your sleep. Do you wake up reaching for me; do you wake up calling my name? When you wake up and realize that I'm not there, just know that it wasn't my choice to leave.


Do you ever dream of me and wish that things could return how they used to be? Do you ever wake up at 4am with thoughts of me and tell yourself to go back to sleep?


Our love story got cut short; it ended too fast. I was convinced this was the last relationship I'd be in but how quickly things changed.


You stopped reaching for my hands as often, you stopped touching my face in the mornings, and your lips started to feel cold instead of warm. All these things happened without warning.


I remained holding on. I, not noticing that by holding on, was inflicting more pain on myself than I would by letting go. I held on to our ropes so tight that blisters, scrapes, cuts and redness started to appear on my hands and palms.


Suddenly it's you waking me out of my sleep. I am the one reaching out for you in the middle of the night; I wake up calling your name. And when I wake up and realize that you're not there, I know its because I wasn't good enough.


I am the one dreaming of you, and wishing things could return how they used to be. I wake up at 4am almost everyday with thoughts of you, telling myself to go back to sleep.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page